How To

Security Settings

The Security Settings page allows you to set access rights for your users' authentication when logging in to your account and set how much time occurs before users should be logged off the ChannelAdvisor platform due to inactivity. Changes made to your users' security settings occur at the client level for your account, so settings implemented on this page will be applied to all users within all Profile IDs (PIDs) for your ChannelAdvisor account.

 

Prerequisites


You should be familiar with the following topic before continuing:

 

Getting Started with Security Settings


To get started with your security settings you must navigate to the My Account > Utilities > Security Settings view and complete the following information:

 

Setting Up Security Settings for Your Users

To set user security settings for all your users, complete the following steps:

  • Set the Login Duration field.
    • Use the dropdown to select the amount of time users can be inactive in your account before the system logs them off of the ChannelAdvisor platform.
    • Options within this field are 1 hour , 2 hours , 4 hours , and 8 hours .
    • The default value is set to 8 hours.
  • Set the Two-Factor Authentication field.
    • With two-factor authentication on, a user must enter an additional code supplied by ChannelAdvisor the first time they log into a device. A device is defined as a unique combination of device + browser.
    • This setting will apply to all users in your account.  It has no affect on API or FTP integrations.
    • Use the dropdown to select whether your users must complete two factor authentication when first logging in the ChannelAdvisor platform or logging in after a signficant time away from working within the platform.
    • Options with this fields are 
      • No (two-factor auth is disabled)
      • Send verification codes by email
      • Send verification codes by text message (SMS)
      • Send verification codes by text message (SMS) or email.
    • Important: if you have any worries about users receiving text messages, choose option "Send verification codes by text message (SMS) or email." This allows users to choose the delivery option.
  • Select an option for the Require Security Questions field.
    • Select Yes or No to require you users to answer security questions when they are seeking to recover a forgotten password.
    • The default value is set to No.
  • Once you have made your changes select the Save button to save your changes.

The Security Settings page allows you to set access rights for your users' authentication when logging in to your account and set how much time occurs before users should be logged off the ChannelAdvisor platform due to inactivity. Changes made to your users' security settings occur at the client level for your account, so settings implemented on this page will be applied to all users within all Profile IDs (PIDs) for your ChannelAdvisor account.

 

Prerequisites


You should be familiar with the following topic before continuing:

 

Getting Started with Security Settings


To get started with your security settings you must navigate to the My Account > Utilities > Security Settings view and complete the following information:

 

Setting Up Security Settings for Your Users

To set user security settings for all your users, complete the following steps:

  • Set the Login Duration field.
    • Use the dropdown to select the amount of time users can be inactive in your account before the system logs them off of the ChannelAdvisor platform.
    • Options within this field are 1 hour , 2 hours , 4 hours , and 8 hours .
    • The default value is set to 8 hours.
  • Set the Two-Factor Authentication field.
    • With two-factor authentication on, a user must enter an additional code supplied by ChannelAdvisor the first time they log into a device. A device is defined as a unique combination of device + browser.
    • This setting will apply to all users in your account.  It has no affect on API or FTP integrations.
    • Use the dropdown to select whether your users must complete two factor authentication when first logging in the ChannelAdvisor platform or logging in after a signficant time away from working within the platform.
    • Options with this fields are 
      • No (two-factor auth is disabled)
      • Send verification codes by email
      • Send verification codes by text message (SMS)
      • Send verification codes by text message (SMS) or email.
    • Important: if you have any worries about users receiving text messages, choose option "Send verification codes by text message (SMS) or email." This allows users to choose the delivery option.
  • Select an option for the Require Security Questions field.
    • Select Yes or No to require you users to answer security questions when they are seeking to recover a forgotten password.
    • The default value is set to No.
  • Once you have made your changes select the Save button to save your changes.
0
Your rating: None
0
Your rating: None